Skip to content
Bracknell Forest Counts — Bracknell Forest, in numbers.Local help →

Bracknell Forest, in numbers

People and living standards

Bracknell Forest council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Bracknell Forest council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 98,063 in 1991 to 132,145 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Bracknell Forest council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 108,610 people in 1996; 132,145 people in 2025. 21.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Bracknell Forest council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199198,063
199299,450
1993100,936
1994103,532
1995106,369
1996108,610
1997108,970
1998108,951
1999109,819
2000109,680
2001109,650
2002109,490
2003109,475
2004109,189
2005109,487
2006109,896
2007110,702
2008111,455
2009111,916
2010112,893
2011113,696
2012115,100
2013116,552
2014117,979
2015119,078
2016119,553
2017120,164
2018121,046
2019121,660
2020123,188
2021125,195
2022127,130
2023128,972
2024130,502
2025132,145
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Bracknell Forest council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 24,278 people in 1996; 25,480 people in 2025. 5% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Bracknell Forest council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199122,086
199222,352
199322,702
199423,319
199523,817
199624,278
199724,361
199824,324
199924,549
200024,370
200124,394
200223,932
200323,688
200423,388
200523,114
200622,864
200722,817
200822,790
200922,919
201023,140
201123,394
201223,637
201324,011
201424,181
201524,396
201624,355
201724,197
201824,342
201924,285
202024,497
202124,656
202224,978
202325,314
202425,499
202525,480
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Bracknell Forest council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 72,857 people in 1996; 85,062 people in 2025. 16.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Bracknell Forest council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199165,563
199266,551
199367,421
199469,191
199571,258
199672,857
199772,993
199872,896
199973,562
200073,554
200173,360
200273,492
200373,471
200473,311
200573,709
200674,229
200774,876
200875,373
200975,431
201075,793
201176,035
201276,583
201377,038
201477,846
201578,480
201678,643
201779,000
201879,222
201979,499
202080,258
202181,530
202282,540
202383,348
202484,026
202585,062
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Bracknell Forest council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 11,475 people in 1996; 21,603 people in 2025. 88.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Bracknell Forest council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199110,414
199210,547
199310,813
199411,022
199511,294
199611,475
199711,616
199811,731
199911,708
200011,756
200111,896
200212,066
200312,316
200412,490
200512,664
200612,803
200713,009
200813,292
200913,566
201013,960
201114,267
201214,880
201315,503
201415,952
201516,202
201616,555
201716,967
201817,482
201917,876
202018,433
202119,009
202219,612
202320,310
202420,977
202521,603
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 124,605 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Bracknell Forest · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh8,8797.1%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African2,9932.4%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups3,8433.1%
White107,26986.1%
Other ethnic group1,6211.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 113,205 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Bracknell Forest · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White102,55490.6%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups2,3032%
Asian/Asian British5,6645%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British2,1891.9%
Other ethnic group4950.4%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 109,617 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Bracknell Forest · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White104,19495.1%
Mixed1,3391.2%
Asian/Asian British2,0981.9%
Black/Black British1,1201%
Chinese/Other8660.8%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 12.4% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Bracknell Forest council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £11,755 per person in 1997; £29,177 per person in 2024. 148.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Bracknell Forest council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199711,755
199811,962
199912,243
200013,059
200113,390
200213,693
200314,011
200414,376
200514,949
200615,716
200716,761
200817,125
200917,515
201017,389
201117,625
201218,319
201319,084
201419,399
201520,360
201621,049
201721,720
201822,388
201923,215
202023,184
202124,024
202225,433
202327,246
202429,177
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Bracknell Forest council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 10.8% in 1997; 12.4% in 2024. 1.6 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Bracknell Forest council area: full reviewed history
Period%
199710.8
199810.5
19998.2
20009.7
20018.2
20028.2
20037.5
20045.9
20056.3
20067.3
20079.2
20088.7
20099.4
20107.7
20118.2
20128.5
20139
20147.3
20157
20169.3
201710.2
20189.7
201910.2
202010.5
202110
202210.8
202311.4
202412.4
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

66.4%

21 March 2021 · Bracknell Forest council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

12.5%

21 March 2021 · Bracknell Forest council area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

13.2%

21 March 2021 · Bracknell Forest council area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

3.2%

21 March 2021 · Bracknell Forest council area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£395,000

July 2026 · Bracknell Forest council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,462

August 2026 · Bracknell Forest council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.